Different DUI Offense Classifications and Penalties in Idaho

Driving under the influence is a punishable offense in many states and can result in severe consequences, which may vary depending on the offender’s age and history. In Idaho, residents are prohibited from driving or being in control of a vehicle while having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08% or higher. Getting a DUI offense conviction reflects badly on you as a driver. Drivers usually go to a skilled DUI attorney to help them in such a case.

They are also prohibited from driving under the influence of impairing substances like alcohol, drugs, or any mixture of other substances. For drivers under the age of 21, the blood alcohol concentration level is reduced to .02%.

The BAC for commercial vehicle drivers is .04%. In Idaho and many other states, there is a demerit system covering the number of points placed on a driver’s record after each offense.

The accumulation of too many points can lead to a license suspension or other repercussions. However, there are no points for driving under the influence in Idaho, though there are other more severe repercussions.

DUI Classifications and Penalties in Idaho

There are different classifications and penalties for driving under the influence in Idaho. However, in most cases, the penalty for driving while impaired depends on the number of times the driver has been charged with a DUI within the last ten years.

The sentences will vary after the first, second, or third DUI conviction. If you are pulled over by a police officer and are found to be under the influence of alcohol or other substances, you will be issued a DUI ticket.

However, if the DUI violation causes danger to the public or results in bodily injury or death to other individuals, you will be charged criminally. In that case, you will need to hire a DUI attorney in Boise to represent and defend you in court.

First DUI Offense

Your first DUI offense in Idaho will result in various consequences. First time DUI offenders may face up to 6 months in jail (10 days or up to 1 year if the blood alcohol concentration is .20% or greater). First-time offenders are also liable to pay a traffic fine of up to $1,000, which may be up to $2,000 if the BAC is .20% or higher.

You may also face a license suspension as a first-time DUI offender in Idaho. The punishment usually lasts 90 to 210 days or up to a year if your blood alcohol content is .20% or greater.

Lastly, first-time offenders will have to use an Ignition Interlock Device for one year.Contact a Boise DUI attorney for more information.

Second DUI Offense

A second driving under the influence offense in Idaho will result in mandatory imprisonment from 10 days up to one year. It may go up to 5 years if the blood alcohol concentration is .20% or higher. Offenders who are not up to 21 years of age will spend 30 days in prison. Second-time offenders will pay a $2,000 fine or more if the BAC is .20% or greater.

Additionally, second-time DUI offenders will also face a license suspension of at least one year to 5 years, depending on the BAC. Lastly, a second DUI offense results in the use of an Ignition Interlock Device for at least a year.

Third DUI Offense

A third driving under the influence offense carries a jail time of 30 days up to 10 years. In Idaho, a third conviction is treated as a felony, so offenders may need to hire an experienced Boise DUI lawyer to represent them in court. Also, third-time offenders will pay a fine of up to $5,000 and will face a license suspension that could be between one to five years.

After the license suspension, the offender will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device on their vehicle. Offenders under 21 will face a prison sentence of up to six months, a $2,000 traffic fine, and a license suspension.

Restricted License and Substance Abuse Evaluation

After 30 days of license suspension, first time DUI offenders may be eligible for a restricted license. The offender will have to use an Ignition Interlock Device and will be mostly limited to health and work-related travel.

Repeat violators can also apply for a restricted license after 45 days. Also, offenders must undergo a substance abuse evaluation to help determine suitable treatment or educational programs necessary to address substance abuse issues.

Contact a Boise DUI Lawyer Today!

If you are facing a charge for driving under the influence, you may need the services of an experienced legal expert to represent you in court. Contact a Boise DUI lawyer today to schedule a free consultation.

drunk driver-fatal-accident

What Charges Will a Drunk Driver Face after a Fatal Crash?

In 2016, the police arrested more than 1 million drivers for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Unfortunately, every day, about 28 people in the United States die in a crash a drunk driver causes. This death ends the life of some people and puts the lives of others on hold. The drunk…
Boise man

Boise Man in Custody in a Hit and Run Case

A Boise man identified as Matthew Shane Hacker has been charged with a felony and is under custody for hitting a man in a parking lot with his car. The Boise man accused is 55 years old and was charged with battery and running from the scene of an accident. The accident took place on…
A drunk driver, concept of DUI charges

What Are the Types of DUI Charges in Idaho?

Idaho laws frown upon driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. There are severe penalties for drivers that operate under the influence. The circumstances surrounding the driver’s arrest and conviction determine the severity of these penalties. In Idaho, there are various types of DUI charges. Therefore, Idaho drivers need to familiarize themselves with them,…