Will You Have to Install an Ignition Interlock Device for Your First DUI in Boise?

In a lot of states, if you are arrested and convicted of DUI, you don’t necessarily have to install an ignition interlock device. In most states, this doesn’t happen until you have at least two DUI in a certain period of time. However, in Boise, it doesn’t work this way. As of 2018, anyone who is convicted of a DUI, regardless of whether it’s their first or second, will have to install this device on their car.

The way an ignition interlock device works is the driver has to blow into a breathalyzer machine before they can start their car. If the machine detects alcohol on their breath, the car won’t start and it will be reported to the courts. The problem is, the courts can force someone to install this device. However, they can’t control who actually blows in the ignition. There are lots of cases in which someone has a friend or family member blow into the device instead. Overall, though, these devices do keep a lot of drunk drivers off the road.

This is the main goal of the new law. The courts aren’t as concerned with whether or not this is an inconvenience to drunk drivers. They want to protect the public. That’s why they decided to make this IDD mandatory for even first-time offenders in Boise, Idaho. If you’ve been convicted of DUI in Boise, expect to have to deal with this ignition interlock device. The best way to avoid this is by having an experienced Boise, Idaho DUI defense lawyer represent you in court.

What Does the New Idaho Law Say About Ignition Interlock Devices?

Prior to 2019, if someone was convicted of their first DUI, they would not have to install an ignition interlock device on their car. It wasn’t until they had been convicted of their second offense that this would happen. However, under the new law, you are required to do so. The law states:

  • All DUI offenders must install an IDD on their vehicle
  • This device must remain on the car for at least one year after your license suspension is over
  • You must pay to install and maintain the device

So, if you’re convicted of DUI, you’ll receive a license suspension of at least 6 months. The 1-year period for the ignition interlock device doesn’t start until after these 6 months are up. The whole point of having your license suspended is that you aren’t supposed to drive. It wouldn’t make sense for this time to be included in the 1 year minimum.

Why Did the Law Change in Idaho?

There were lots of reasons why the legislature changed the law regarding DUI and ignition interlock devices. Most of these reasons had to do with public safety. The legislature felt that it was more important to protect the public than it is to worry about inconveniencing a drunk driver.

Some of the facts that the legislature based their decision on include:

  • Most people caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol have driven drunk or high at least 80 times before they’re actually caught
  • 80% of people with a suspended license drive anyway
  • A license suspension is not a deterrent. It’s better if the car is not able to start without a sober driver behind the wheel

Contact an Experienced DUI Defense Attorney in Boise, Idaho Right Away

If you’ve been charged with DUI, you don’t have a lot of time before your first court appearance. In fact, you may have to go to your first hearing a day or so after being arrested. This means that you should contact an experienced DUI law office in Boise, Idaho right away. This way, you’re not standing alone in a courtroom when the prosecutor asks the judge to file the charges against you.

While hiring a DUI defense attorney won’t guarantee that your charges will be reduced or dismissed, it does increase your chances. A skilled attorney knows how to negotiate with the prosecutor. They also know how to poke holes in the state’s case. The best way to get a fair plea deal is to have a skilled lawyer represent you in court. Even if you don’t have an attorney for your first appearance, you really need to call one shortly thereafter. You’re going to have to face your charges sooner rather than later. It’s best to have someone by your side when this happens.

Call and schedule your initial consultation with our office today.

DUI-punishments

DUI in Boise, ID — Possible Penalties and Punishments You Should Know About

Idaho laws on Driving Under the Influence (DUI) are stringent and particularly frightening for first-time offenders including the attached punishments. First-time offenders are usually at sea on what to do when slammed with DUI charges. This fright is further worsened with the fact that you may not know what punishment lies ahead. This doesn’t mean…
Bonneville DUI Convict

Bonneville DUI Convict Escapes, Gets Arrested Again

A Bonneville DUI convict who was arrested back in September and later escaped during a work detail has now been rearrested. The convict was identified by the authorities as Cory Wardle, 61. According to the details shared by the Bonneville County Sheriff’s Department, Wardle had originally been arrested in September and was booked into the…
trial

Does It Make Sense to Go to Trial for a DUI?

After you get arrested for driving under the influence, one of the things you will have to decide is whether you want to go to trial. Each case is different so you will need to seek advice from a Boise DUI attorney on whether you should fight the charges or take a plea agreement if…