Skip to content

What is the Penalty for DUI Vehicular Manslaughter in Boise, Idaho?

One of the reasons the police in Boise come down so hard on people who drive drunk is that It’s dangerous. Thousands of people are injured or killed every year in this country because of drunk drivers. If you end up getting into an accident while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, expect the State to come down on you with swift and severe action.

It’s one thing to get pulled over for drunk driving. Yes, you’ll be facing a DUI charge, but it’s not the end of the world. You can hire an experienced DUI lawyer in Boise who can try to work out a fair plea deal with the prosecutor. However, if you get into an accident while under the influence, it’s a totally different story. There’s not much your DUI lawyer can do to make these charges go away.

Now, imagine that you’re not only involved in a DUI accident but that someone is seriously injured or killed in that crash. If this is the case, you’ll be facing, at a minimum, vehicular homicide which is a felony in Idaho. If this is the situation you find yourself in, it’s critical that you contact an experienced DUI defense attorney in Boise, Idaho right away. You’re be facing serious penalties, including hefty fines and jail time. You’re going to want a skilled attorney by your side from the moment you’re charged.

What is Vehicular Homicide with Gross Negligence?

In Idaho, there are three (3) types of vehicular homicide. The least serious of these offenses is Vehicular Manslaughter without Gross Negligence. This is considered a misdemeanor and doesn’t carry nearly as serious a penalty as the other two types. Vehicular Manslaughter with gross negligence is considered a felony. 

This type of offense is when someone is in the commission of a crime while driving their vehicle. They end up getting into an accident and kill someone in the process. This can include someone in the other car or your own passenger. For example, if you’re driving on a suspended license and end up crashing into someone else’s car, you could be charged with this offense. It depends on whether or not that person dies. The penalty of this offense is up to ten (10) years in prison and fines of up t $10,000. You’ll also have your driver’s license suspended for whatever time the court deems fit.

How is Vehicular Homicide with DUI Different?

Imagine you’re in the same situation described above. However, this time, you’re under the influence of drugs or alcohol. You get into an accident while committing a DUI offense. You run over a pedestrian and the victim dies. In this case, you’ll be charged with vehicular homicide with DUI or aggravated DUI. This is a felony and carries a penalty of up to fifteen (15) years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000. Your driver’s license will also be suspended for as long as the judge deems fit.

For this type of crime, the only underlying offense required is that you’re driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The State doesn’t need to show that you committed any other offense. If you’re charged with this offense, you’re going to need a skilled DUI defense lawyer. Having to pay fines and losing your license will be the least of your concerns. You’ll be facing manslaughter charges that carry a hefty prison sentence.  

Call and Talk to an Experienced DUI Defense Lawyer in Boise, Idaho

If you or your spouse have been charged with DUI vehicular homicide in Boise, you need to call our office right away. This is different than just being charged with driving under the influence. If you get into an accident while under the influence and someone dies, you’ll be facing homicide charges. This means you could be charged and convicted of a felony that carries a lengthy jail sentence. It’s in your best interest to call and talk to an experienced DUI defense lawyer in Boise right away.

After your arrest, it won’t be long before you need to appear in court and make a plea. You should have a skilled lawyer by your side when you do this. Your attorney will do what they can to poke holes in the State’s case. They’ll also work hard to negotiate a favorable plea with the prosecutor. Contact our office right away and set up a date and time to come in. 

Glasses of alcohol sitting on a table top.

Do I Have to Tell My Employer I’ve Been Charged with a DUI?

People who are arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence of intoxicants often have lots of questions for attorneys. While many relate to how they can fight the charge or get the minimum punishment, others relate to their professional or personal lives. This is understandable since a DUI arrest or conviction isn’t only a…
A man holding a glass of alcohol at a bar. The liquor is lying next to a set of keys.

DUI Charges Brought Against Driver After Multiple Pursuits

A driver responsible for triggering a number of police pursuits on Sunday, May 10, was charged with DUI. Other charges against the suspect were also brought by the Idaho State Police. According to the details shared by the authorities, the driver charged had entered Idaho from Washington. The Washington State Patrol contacted the Idaho State…
Mid section background image

What Mistakes Should You Avoid After Being Charged with a DUII?

Getting charged with driving under the influence of intoxicants can be scary. Many people who face charges of impaired driving have never been in trouble with the law before. However, they know there are several legal and administrative consequences associated with DUIs. Jail time is a possibility, heavy fines are common, and professional licenses can…