Skip to content

What is a Wet Reckless Plea in Boise, Idaho?

If you’re ever pulled over and charged with DWI (driving while intoxicated) in Idaho, you’re going to be facing some pretty serious penalties. Depending on whether it’s your first or second offense, you can be facing fines, jail time and a suspension of your driver’s license. What you need is a skilled DUI defense lawyer in Boise who can work with the prosecutor to negotiate a fair plea deal.

In a lot of states, if you’re charged with DWI or DUI, the State isn’t allowed to entertain a plea deal. The courts require that the charges stick and the defendant is required to follow through with a trial. Or they have the option of pleading guilty to the original charges. The only hope you may have is that your DUI defense lawyer can get the prosecutor and judge to agree to the lowest possible penalties.

In Idaho, it is a bit different. The prosecutor in Boise is allowed to work with your DUI defense lawyer to arrange for a plea. For example, if you’re charged with DWI, your attorney may be able to convince the prosecutor to drop the charges and let you plea to reckless driving instead. When this happens, it’s referred to as a “wet reckless.” In other words, it’s a reckless driving charge that happened to involve alcohol.

Here, we’ll talk about how this works and what sort of penalties you’ll be facing if you agree to a wet reckless plea deal.

Is a Wet Reckless Any Different from a DWI Charge?

There is a huge difference between a DWI charge and a wet reckless charge. First of all, it won’t appear on your criminal history as a DWI. Reckless driving is reckless driving – there isn’t a difference as far as your criminal history is concerned. The penalties are also the same whether it’s a wet reckless or regular wet reckless driving. The word “wet” isn’t going to appear on your record. 

Reckless driving is basically when someone drives without regard for the safety of others. Some examples of reckless driving are when someone is doing 20 miles above the speed limit. Or, they try to pass someone in a “no-passing” zone. It’s behavior that could jeopardize the lives of other motorists. 

A wet reckless is really just a DWI charge that’s been reduced to a reckless driving charge. So instead of being convicted of the offense of driving while intoxicated, you’ll be convicted of a charge for reckless driving instead.

What are the Penalties for a Wet Reckless Charge in Boise?

If you agree to a plea bargain for a wet reckless charge, you’ll still be facing stiff penalties. The penalties for a wet reckless are as follows:

  • 1st offense: Up to 6 months in jail and fines of up to$1,000. Your driver’s license will also be suspended for thirty (30) days
  • 2nd Offense: Up to 1 year in jail and fines of up to $2,000. Your driver’s license will be suspended for ninety (90) days.
  • 3rd and subsequent offenses: Up to 1 year in jail and fines of up to $2,000. However, you’ll face a suspension of your driver’s license for up to 1 year. 

These penalties may seem stiff. However, they’re a lot less serious than the penalties for DWI in Idaho. If your Boise DUI defense lawyer is able to negotiate this plea for you, it’s probably in your best interest to accept it. 

Contact an Experienced DUI Defense Lawyer in Idaho

If you or your loved one have been charged with DWI, you really should call a lawyer. You don’t want to try to handle this on your own. You’ll be facing some pretty serious penalties. Not only will you have your driver’s license suspended, but you could also be facing jail time and hefty fines. To avoid all of this, you’ll want a DUI defense attorney who can work with the prosecutor to arrange for a plea deal.

Call our office right away and talk to one of our expert DWI defense lawyers. They can sit down with you and answer any questions you may have. They’ll also let you know what the best and worst outcomes may be. If they think you may qualify for a plea bargain, they’ll let you know. They’ll also reach out to the prosecutor and see if they’re willing to discuss a plea deal. The odds of this happening are much better when you have a legal professional by your side.

Glasses of alcohol sitting on a table top.

Do I Have to Tell My Employer I’ve Been Charged with a DUI?

People who are arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence of intoxicants often have lots of questions for attorneys. While many relate to how they can fight the charge or get the minimum punishment, others relate to their professional or personal lives. This is understandable since a DUI arrest or conviction isn’t only a…
A man holding a glass of alcohol at a bar. The liquor is lying next to a set of keys.

DUI Charges Brought Against Driver After Multiple Pursuits

A driver responsible for triggering a number of police pursuits on Sunday, May 10, was charged with DUI. Other charges against the suspect were also brought by the Idaho State Police. According to the details shared by the authorities, the driver charged had entered Idaho from Washington. The Washington State Patrol contacted the Idaho State…
Mid section background image

What Mistakes Should You Avoid After Being Charged with a DUII?

Getting charged with driving under the influence of intoxicants can be scary. Many people who face charges of impaired driving have never been in trouble with the law before. However, they know there are several legal and administrative consequences associated with DUIs. Jail time is a possibility, heavy fines are common, and professional licenses can…